Call for Papers and Participation

Second International Workshop on
Regulated Agent-Based Social Systems:
Theories and Applications (RASTA'03)

Workshop date: 23 June, 2003

in connection with ICAIL 2003
the Ninth International Conference on ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE and LAW
24 - 28 June, 2003 Edinburgh, Scotland, UK

organised by
Institute of Science and Technology of Cognition - CNR, Italy,
AI Lab of the Department of Computer Sciences, Humboldt University Berlin, and
"Theoretical Foundations of Computer Science" Group, University of Hamburg


Organizing Board    Programme Committee    Submissions   

New deadline for submissions: March 24, 2003
Notification of acceptance: April 23, 2003
Deadline for final papers: May 13, 2003
Workshop: June 23, 2003


Agent Technology is the latest paradigm of software engineering methodology. The development of autonomous, mobile, and intelligent agents brings new challenges to the field. Agent technologies and multi-agent-systems are one of the most vibrant and active research areas of computer science. At the same time commercial applications of agents are gaining attention. The construction of artificial (agent) societies leads to questions that already have been asked for human societies. Computer Scientists have adopted terms like emerging behavior, self-organization, and evolutionary theory in an intuitive manner. Multi-agent-system researchers have started to develop agents with "social" abilities and complex "social" systems. However, most of these systems lack the foundation of the social sciences. It is the intention to bring together researchers from computer science as well as the social sciences who see their common interest in social theories for the construction of multi-agent-systems and those who want to use multi-agent-systems to simulate social systems.

The workshop will take place before the Ninth International Conference on ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE and LAW 24 - 28 June, 2003 Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
The Workshop date will be 23 June, 2003



Submissions

Innovative and recent papers written in English are welcome for submission. The papers will be reviewed by at least two programme committee members. Selection criteria will focus on relevance to the special topic, originality with respect to the state of the art, and potential for discussion.

The program committee invites submissions of contributions as: long versions (up to 20 pages), short versions (up to 10 papges), and position statements / posters (up to 2 pages). Submissions should be in either POSTSCRIPT or PDF format and emailed to rasta03@informatik.uni-hamburg.de .

Accepted papers will be included in the workshop proceedings which will appear as a technical report of the Department of Computer Science, University of Hamburg, and which will be available at the workshop. The best contributions will be considered for further publication.
 
 

For further information about RASTA'03 contact the programme committee by email at rasta03@informatik.uni-hamburg.de
or have a look at the
RASTA'03 homepage at http://www.informatik.uni-hamburg.de/TGI/events/rasta03/

Range of Interest

The wide range of social theories offers many different solutions to problems found in complex (computer) systems. Which theories, to apply how and when is a major challenge. In developing agents and multi-agent-systems computer scientists have used sociological terms like negotiation, interaction, contracts, agreement, organisation, cohesion, social order, or collaboration. Meanwhile an interdisciplinary area called Socionics, the bridge between sociology and computer science, is beginning to establish itself. The realisation that the behaviour of societies cannot fully be explained by macro-theories only, and the progress made in agent technology opened the way to new models of societies in which both macro-theories and micro-theories are incorporated. However, the integration of these theories is still insufficient. The development of the socionics research area and the increased interest in dynamics of behaviour and structures of or within agents in hybrid organisations requires the investigation of new modelling concepts.
When looking at the actually implemented systems many difficult challenges have to be solved with respect to the behaviour and the relationships within the involved and implemented entities of a system. Especially the introduction of norms and institutions in the social world has helped to organize our world. The transfer of these concepts into the field of MAS seems to be a promissing direction. At the same time the complete understanding of establishment of norms and institutions still needs research. Most interesting is that MAS are now seen as a good vehicle in terms of metaphers, concepts, and tools to support this research direction.
Social networks have been a good tool to provide an effective tool for sociologists studying individual behaviors in a complex social system and testbed for the study and evaluation of artificial agent societies. The mutual dependencies between organizations and their personal / artifical actors is a demanding testbed for theories and applications of MAS. The future will provide more and more connected and mutually dependent organizations / people / artifical agents. The consequences still have not been understood.
The way to approach all these challenges can be from theoretical, experimental, empirical, prototypical, applied etc. work. We expect to have again many different directions which will lead to an interesting discussion during and after the workshop as last time.
Topics of interest include but are not limited to:


 
Programme committee
Karl Aberer EPF Lausanne, Switzerland karl.aberer@epfl.ch
Andreas Abecker DFKI, Germany aabecker@dfki.uni-kl.de
Mark S. Ackerman University of Michigan, USA ackerman@godzilla.ICS.UCI.EDU
Petra Ahrweiler University of Hamburg, Germany ahrweiler@sozwi.sozialwiss.uni-hamburg.de
Luis Antunes University of Lisboa, Portugal xarax@di.fc.ul.pt
Sven Brückner ERIM, USA sbrueckner@erim.org
Kathleen Carley CMU, USA Kathleen.Carley@cmu.edu
Noshir Contractor University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA nosh@uiuc.edu
Jose Carmo Technical University of Madeira, Portugal jcc@math.uma.pt
Enhong Chen University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China cheneh@ustc.edu.cn
Helder Coelho University of Lisbon, Portugal hcoelho@di.fc.ul.pt
Rosaria Conte National Research Council,Rome, Italy conte@ip.rm.cnr.it
Raymond D'Amore MITRE, USA rdamore@mitre.org
Kerstin Dautenhahn University of Hertfordshire, United Kingdom K.Dautenhahn@herts.ac.uk
Chris Dellarocas MIT Sloan School of Management, USA dell@mit.edu
Peter Dittrich University Dortmund, Germany dittrich@ls11.cs.uni-do rtmund.de
Bruce Edmonds Manchester Metropolitan University Business School, United Kingdom b.edmonds@mmu.ac.uk
Rino Falcone Institute of Cognitive Science and Technology-CNR, Italy Falcone@ip.rm.cnr.it
David Hales Manchester Metropolitan University, UK dave@davidhales.com
Andrea Hollingshead University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA hollings@uiuc.edu
Andrew Jones King's College London, UK ajijones@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
Catholijn Jonker Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands jonker@cs.vu.nl
Henry A. Kautz University of Washington, USA kautz@cs.washington.edu
Stefan Kirn TU Ilmenau, Germany stefan.kirn@wirtsch aft.tu-ilmenau.de
Ioan Alfred Letia Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania letia@cs-gw.utcluj.ro
Victor Lesser University of Massachusetts at Amherst, USA lesser@cs.umass.edu
Henry Lieberman MIT, USA lieber@media.mit.edu
Gabriela Lindemann(co-Chair) Humboldt University Berlin,Germany lindeman@informatik.hu- berlin.de
Jiming Liu Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong jiming@Comp.HKBU.Edu.HK
Thomas Malsch Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg, Germany malsch@tu-harburg.de
Steve Marsh National Research Council, Canada steve.marsh@nrc.ca
Mark Maybury MITRE, USA maybury@mitre.org
Jordi Sabater Mir IIIA / CSIC, Spain jsabater@iiia.csic.es
Ivica Mitrovic University of Split, Croatia ivica.mitrovic@umas.hr
Daniel Moldt(co-Chair) University of Hamburg, Germany moldt@informatik.uni-hamburg.de
Bonnie Nardi Agilent Technologies, USA bonnie_nardi@exch.labs.agilent.com
Hiroaki Ogata University of Tokushima, Japan ogata@is.tokushima-u.ac.jp
Sascha Ossowski Rey Juan Carlos University, Spain s.ossowski@escet.urjc.es
Pietro Panzarasa University of London, United Kingdom p.panzarasa@qmul.ac.uk
Mario Paolucci(co-Chair) National Research Council,Rome, Italy mario.paolucci@thinkingo lem.com
Mirko Petric University of Split, Croatia mirko.petric@umas.hr
Paolo Petta University of Vienna, OFAI, Austria paolo@ai.univie.ac.at
Michael Prietula University of Florida, USA prietula@ufl.edu
Juan Antonio Rodriguez-Aguilar IIIA-CSIC, Spain jar@iiia.csic.es
Fiorella de Rosis University of Bari, Italy derosis@di.uniba.it
Giovanni Sartor University of Bologna, Italy sartor@cirfid.unibo.it
Michael Schillo DFKI Multiagent Systems Group, Germany schillo@dfki.de
Ingo Schulz-Schaeffer TU Berlin, Germany schulz-schaeffer@tu-berlin.de
Bart Selman Cornell University, USA selman@CS.Cornell.EDU
Munindar P. Singh North Carolina State University, USA mpsingh@eos.ncsu.edu
Sorin Solomon Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel sorin@vms.huji.ac.il
Liz Sonenberg University of Melbourne, Australia LizS@staff.dis.unimelb.edu.au
Katia Sycara CMU, USA katia@cs.cmu.edu
Ingo Timm TZI Bremen, Germany i.timm@tzi.org
Inga Tomic-Koludrovic University of Split, Croatia inga.tomic-koludrovic@umas .hr
Leon van der Torre Vrije University, The Netherlands torre@cs.vu.nl
Adelinde Uhrmacher University Rostock, Germany lin@informatik.uni-rostock.de
Thomas Uthmann University Mainz, Germany uthmann@informatik.uni-mainz.de
Harko Verhagen Stockholm University and the Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden verhagen@dsv.su.se
Pinar Yolum North Carolina State University, USA pyolum@eos.ncsu.edu
Bin Yu North Carolina State University, USA byu@unity.ncsu.edu

 



 
Organizing Board
Gabriela Lindemann Humboldt University Berlin,Germany lindeman@informatik.hu-berlin.de
Daniel Moldt University of Hamburg, Germany moldt@informatik.uni-hamburg.de
Mario Paolucci National Research Council,Rome, Italy mario.paolucci@thinkingolem.com

 


Last modified: 07.03.2003 Daniel Moldt
http://www.informatik.uni-hamburg.de/TGI/events/rasta03/cfp.html